Day 2 – Internship at Cocoa and tour with the group

(Para leer en español ir abajo)

Today was the official day. I got an email yesterday saying I should be at my internship placement at 9:00 a.m. So I went to bed after meeting my host family, and was woken up the next day by one of my host sisters. When she came to my room, my first question was: WHAT TIME IS IT?! And she said: It’s 10:00 a.m. and they called my mom asking for you, but don’t worry, they are expecting you to be there at noon. I freaked out! How could it be possible that I overslept on the first day! But remember what I told you about not sleeping at all in the last few days? Well… this was the consequence. I knew I could take the metro to get to my job, but it actually took longer than just walking. So I put on my ballet flats, stored my heels on my purse, and walked to the Cocoa Comunicación office. I actually got there pretty early, so I took some time to explore the area and I found so many plazas and green spaces! I love it! My first day at Cocoa was spent doing a short training, getting to know my co-workers, and doing some medical research, which I’m not too crazy about. I was done by 2:00 p.m., so I decided to walk back to my apartment, which takes a little more than 20 min., but this time, I walked different streets and found picturesque coffee shops, plazas, and buildings. After stopping by HM for a little bit, I got home, did an apartment tour for my family, and quickly changed to head out to the tour of El Born that CISabroad had organized. 

I took the metro to Arc de Triomf to meet the tour guides and the other interns, and I absolutely fell in love with the Arc, the live performances at the Passeig Lluís Companys, the Parc de la Ciutadell, and of course, El Born. The other interns and the tour guides were super friendly. After exploring this area for a few hours and seeing a beautiful church called Basílica de Santa María del Mar, we stopped by Borneo to eat some Tapas, the famous little snacks that are delicious. We talked, hung out, walked a little more, and kinda dispersed afterwards, but I stayed out a little longer to hang out with 2 other girls and 1 guy. It’s good to know other people that are going through similar experiences as you 🙂 I’ve been here only one day, but I already know I’m in love with Barcelona.


Hoy fue el día oficial. Recibí un correo ayer diciendo que tenía que estar en mi pasantía a las 9:00 am. Así que me fui a la cama después de conocer a mi familia Española y al día siguiente me despertó una de mis hermanas anfitrionas. Cuando ella vino a mi habitación, mi primera pregunta fue: ¿Qué hora es?! Y ella dijo: Son las 10:00 am y llamaron a mi madre preguntando por ti, pero no te preocupes, que están esperando que estés allí al mediodía. ¿QUÉ? ¿¡Cómo podría ser posible que me quedé dormida en el primer día!? Pero se acuerdan lo que les dije acerca de no dormir en absoluto en los últimos días? Bueno … esto fue la consecuencia. Sabía que podía tomar el metro para llegar a mi trabajo, pero en realidad toma más tiempo que simplemente caminar. Así que me puse mis zapatillas pachas, guardé mis tacones en mi cartera y me dirigí a la oficina de Cocoa Comunicación. Me llegué allí bastante temprano así que tomé un tiempo para explorar la zona y encontré tantas plazas y espacios verdes. ¡Me encanta! Mi primer día en Cocoa lo pasé haciendo un entrenamiento corto, conociendo a mis compañeros de trabajo, y haciendo algo de investigación médica, lo cual no mucho me emociona. Me fui como a las 2:00 pm y decidí caminar de regreso a mi apartamento, lo cual toma un poco más de 20 min. Pero esta vez, caminé diferentes calles y encontré tiendas pintorescas, cafeterías, plazas y edificios. Después de pasar viendo ropa a HM, llegué a casa, hice un tour del apartamento para mi familia y me cambié rápidamente para irme al tour del Born que CISabroad había organizado.

Tomé el metro de Arc de Triomf para encontrarme con los guías turísticos y los otros practicantes y en seguida me enamoré del Arco, las actuaciones en vivo en el Passeig Lluís Companys, el Parc de la Ciutadell, y por supuesto, el Born. Los otros internos y los guías turísticos eran súper amables. Después de explorar esta área durante unas horas y ver una hermosa iglesia llamada Basílica de Santa María del Mar, nos detuvimos en Borneo a comer algunas tapas, los famosos bocadillos que súper ricos. Hablamos, pasamos el rato, caminamos un poco más, y luego como que nos dispersamos pero yo me quedé un poco más de tiempo para pasar el rato con otras 2 chicas y 1 chico. Es bueno conocer a otras personas que están pasando por experiencias similares a vos 🙂 He estado aquí sólo un día, pero ya sé que estoy enamorado con Barcelona.

Keep dreaming,

Sigan soñando,

Deb20150519_235816 20150519_234850

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

20150519_235236Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

