Day 11 – (PARIS) Is this for real?

Para leer en español ir abajo)

FINALLY! It’s Thursday, the day I visit Paris, France for the first time ever after years of dreaming with listening to La Vie en Rose or eating macarons by the Eiffel Tower. But first, I had to go to work. Although “work” today was different because I was told to go to a Neuromarketing conference that was happening in hotel Catalonia in Plaza España. The speaker was very eloquent and knowledgeable so it ended up being super interesting, although we didn’t receive a lot of “new” information. After working just the morning, I went back to my apartment, changed, heated up some leftover noodles, and went to the airport to start my weekend adventure!

Paris, Oh Paris! C’est Magnifique! After having a pretty good flight with Vueling (much better than the last time I flew), I got there at about 6:00 p.m. and took the Orlybus to get to the city center. While I was still on the bus, I saw from afar the majestic Eiffel Tower and got super excited. When I got to the city center, I still had to take the metro to get to where I am staying, so I bought a single ticket, took myself and my bags to the apartment, rested for a bit, searched directions on Google Maps, and head to the Arc de Triomphe de l’Étoile. While I was there, I took a bunch of pictures, asking strangers to take some of me (because I traveled by myself), and then, walked to Champs-Élysées. While there, I was trying to find a place to eat dinner, but, of course, everything was expensive and I felt weird thinking about the idea of eating by myself. So I went into McDonald’s (fancy, right?), but then I started to crave Burger King, so i kept walking and finally found one. I ate a burger and fries, walked Champs-Élysées again, and took the metro to go home, rest, and plan my day tomorrow. The big question now is to tour with a guide or to explore by myself? I don’t know yet, we’ll see what happens! Some pictures from today are below 🙂 


¡POR FIN! Es jueves, el día que visito París, Francia por primera vez después de años de soñar con escuchar La vie en Rose o comer macarons al pie de la Torre Eiffel. Pero primero, tenía que ir a trabajar. Aunque el “trabajo” hoy fue diferente porque me mandaron a una conferencia de Neuromarketing que estaba siendo impartida en el Hotel Cataluña en Plaza España. El conferencista era muy elocuente y bien informado por lo que terminó siendo muy interesante, aunque no recibimos una gran cantidad de información “nueva.” Después de trabajar solo por la mañana, volví a mi apartamento, me cambie, recalenté unos fideos que me habían quedado y me fui al aeropuerto para iniciar mi aventura de fin de semana.

¡París, ah París! ¡C’est Magnifique! Después de tener un buen vuelo con Vueling (mucho mejor que la última vez que volé), llegué a París a eso de las 6:00 pm y tomé el Orlybus para llegar al centro de la ciudad. Cuando todavía estaba en el bus, vi de lejos la majestuosa Torre Eiffel y me puse súper emocionada. Cuando llegué al centro de la ciudad, todavía tenía que tomar el metro para llegar a donde me estoy quedando, así que compré un billete sencillo y me fui con mis maletas al apartamento. Descansé un poco, busqué direcciones en Google Maps y me dirigí al Arco del Triunfo. Mientras estuve allí, me tomé un montón de fotos, pidiéndole extraños que me tomaran algunas a mí (ya que viaje sola) y después camine hacia los Champs-Élysées. Al estar allí me puse a buscar un lugar para cenar pero, por supuesto, todo era caro y me sentía incomoda con la idea de comer solita. Así que me fui a un McDonalds (súper elegante, ¿verdad?). Pero luego me dieron ganas de Burger King, así que seguí caminando y finalmente encontré uno. Me comí una hamburguesa y papas fritas y camine de regreso por los Champs-Élysées para tomar el metro para ir a casa, descansar y planear mi día de mañana. La gran pregunta ahora es ¿recorrer París con un guía o explorar por mi cuenta? No sé todavía, ¡vamos a ver qué pasa! Abajo están algunas fotos de hoy 🙂

Keep dreaming,

Sigan soñando, 

Deb

Hotel Catalunya y Plaza España

Hotel Catalunya y Plaza España

The travel life

The travel life

First few hours in Paris

First few hours in Paris

Arc de Triomphe

Arc de Triomphe

20150601_153501Champ Elysees

Champ Elysees

Of course, I snapchatted while in Paris @debcastro

Of course, I snapchatted while in Paris @debcastro

♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

