Day 12 – (PARIS) I think hours are longer in Paris

(Para leer en español ir abajo)

I woke up today determined to go see the Eiffel Tower, but first, as the big planner as I am, I needed to plan my day, or at least have an idea of where I was going and what I wanted to do, because I hate trusting on the “free wifi around the city” myth. I decided to get the Paris Visite 2 day pass to move around the city using the Metro as much as I needed, and I decided to explore the city by myself; no tour. I marked as favorites on google maps the places I wanted to see and made sure I had downloaded the map. I was ready to explore Paris!

First stop, Trocadéro metro station to get the amazing, breathtaking view of the her… LA TOUR EIFFEL! I took a loooot of pictures and, again, asked strangers to take some pictures of me, but I mostly used the famous selfie stick. I kept walking towards the Eiffel Tower, taking more pictures, people-watching, and craving everything I saw in the Pâtisseries (bakeries). I sat down by the Champ de Mars for a bit, ate some of my Nerds candy (I, Débora Castro, am a Nerds addict), and then went to the nearest metro station, got lost after taking the wrong train, and then finally got to the neighborhood where Musée d’Orsay is located. I bought a Jambon Beurre (Cheese and Ham Baguette) and a giant macaron. I sat on the steps by the museum and had lunch while listening to french street musicians 🙂 I went into the museum, got a reduced fare for being under 25 (YES!), explore the AMAZING art work, and rested for a while after realizing my phone had died 😦 I decided to just walk around and see what I could find. I ended up walking by the Seine River, walking through the Tuileries Garden (which I loved!), seeing the smaller Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel, and finally took pictures at the famous Pyramide du Louvre (I didn’t have enough time to go into the museum and see the Mona Lisa; next time!). But that wasn’t it! Of course, I kept walking because I thought I could quickly get to Notre Dame, which I did, but after walking so much! After my phone died, the maps on the bus stations were my best friends, but I didn’t understand the distances so well hehe. So tired and all, I still got to Notre Dame in time to get in. There’s truly something about this cathedral… you can feel it. After hanging out for what seem a long while to me, I started to walk towards the metro station, but then, I realized I was in a very touristic area… it was the famous Latin Quarter 🙂 It was an interesting experience, but I made the mistake of eating dinner there… it was somewhat expensive and not very good. Oh well! Afterwards, I went home; I truly needed to rest.

To be honest, I never thought I could see so much of Paris in just one day. I feel pretty happy after my first day here… and tired, oh so tired! But… IT’S PARIS! I leave you a whole lot of pictures from today.


Hoy me desperté determinada para ir a ver la Torre Eiffel, pero primero, como soy medio obsesiva con planificarlo todo, necesitaba planificar mi día o al menos tener una idea de a dónde iba y lo que yo quería hacer porque yo odio confiar en el mito del “wifi gratuito por la ciudad.” Al final decidí comprar un pase de 2 días llamado Paris Visite para moverse por la ciudad utilizando el metro ilimitadamente porque decidí explorar la ciudad por mí misma, sin guías ni nada. Marqué como favoritos en Google Maps los lugares que quería ver y me aseguré de que haber descargado el mapa en mi celular. Estaba listisima para explorar París!

La primera parada fue la estación de metro Trocadéro para disfrutar de la increíble e impresionante vista de ella… ¡LA TOUR EIFFEL! Tomé un montón de fotos y, de nuevo, le pedí a extraños que me tomaran fotos, pero la mayoría las tomé utilizado el famoso palo de selfie (selfie stick). Seguí caminando hacia la Torre Eiffel, tomando más fotos, observando a la gente y queriendo comerme todo lo que veía en las Pâtisseries (panaderías). Me senté en el Champ de Mars un ratito, me comí algunos de mis dulces Nerds (Yo, Débora Castro, soy una adicta a los Nerds) y luego me fui a la estación de metro más cercana, me perdí un rato después de tomar el tren equivocado pero finalmente llegué al barrio donde se encuentra el Musée d’Orsay. Allí me compré un Jambon Beurre (Baguette de Jamón y Queso) y un macaron gigante. Me senté en las gradas del museo y almorcé allí mientras escuchaba a los músicos callejeros franceses 🙂 Luego entré en el museo, me dieron una tarifa reducida por ser menor de 25 años (¡wuju!), observé las obras de arte increíbles y descansé un ratito después de haberme dado cuenta que mi teléfono había muerto 😦 Después, decidí simplemente pasear y ver qué podía encontrar. Terminé caminando por el río Seine, paseando por el Jardín de las Tullerías (¡que me encantó!), vi el pequeño Arco de Triunfo du Carrousel, y finalmente, me tomé las respectivas fotos en la famosa Pirámide del Louvre (no tenía tiempo suficiente para entrar en el museo y ver la Mona Lisa… ¡para la próxima!). Pero eso no fue todo, por supuesto. Seguí caminando porque pensé que podría llegar rápidamente a Notre Dame, lo cual logré, ¡pero después de caminar mucho! Después de que mi teléfono murió, los mapas de las estaciones de bus eran mis mejores amigos, aunque no entendía las distancias muy bien que digamos jeje. Cansada y todo, logré llegar a Notre Dame para poder entrar. Hay realmente algo especial acerca de esta catedral… se puede sentir adentro. Después de pasar lo que me pareció un largo rato allí, empecé a caminar hacia la estación de metro pero luego me di cuenta que estaba en una zona muy turística… ¡era el famoso Latin Quarter! 🙂 Fue una experiencia interesante pero yo cometí el error de cenar allí… era un poco caro y no muy bueno. ¡Ni modo! Después, me fui a casa, realmente necesitaba descansar.

Para ser honesta, nunca pensé que podía ver tanto de París en un solo día. Me siento muy satisfecha después de mi primer día aquí … y cansada, ¡súper cansada! Pero … ¡ES PARIS! Les dejo un montón de fotos de hoy.

Keep dreaming,

Sigan soñando, 

Deb

The selfie stick and... clowns

The selfie stick and… clowns

HER

HER

20150602_163354

Lunch - Baguette and Giant Macaron

Lunch – Baguette and Giant Macaron

The view from Musée d'Orsay

The view from Musée d’Orsay

Musée d'Orsay

Musée d’Orsay

Paris tourist attractions

Paris tourist attractions

Deb in famous places. Graciously taken by strangers

Deb in famous places. Graciously taken by strangers

Dinner at the Latin Quarter

Dinner at the Latin Quarter

♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

