Day 23 – De Tornada a la Feina (Back to Work!)

(Para leer en español ir abajo)
(Click on continue reading to see photos)

The one-day holiday is over, and now I have to go back to reality… but to be honest, I love my reality right now! Of course I miss my family, friends, boyfriend, home, traditional food, etc., but I truly am in love with the idea of living in Barcelona like a local… a curious local. 

Work was good as always. We are working on many exciting projects for our clients, but also on projects of our own, and I’m just really happy that my co-workers are making me part of the whole process. After work, I went back to my homestay with enough time to only eat lunch, get dressed, and head to the Barcelona International College building to receive my first Catalan class! The program I came to Barcelona with included either Spanish or Catalan classes, and since my native language is Spanish, I obviously went for Catalan. Since most students are currently taking Spanish, my Catalan class is composed of the teacher and one more student :p I’ll be having intense classes for five days and that’s it. I know I won’t become fluent in the language, but it’s interesting to learn the basics of the most-spoken language in Barcelona 🙂 Plus, now I know what some of the bus stop, street, metro stops names mean.

After Catalan, I was craving some macaroons (I could have macaroons everyday!), so I yelped (the verb for using the Yelp app, which I love) patisseries that were close-by and found an attractive one just 2 quarters away. However, when I got there, they didn’t have macaroons (!!!), but I ended up buying some chocolate-filled and cream-filled pastries. Afterwards, I took like ten steps to get to the metro stations (so many in Gran Via!) and went home. At night, I continued editing more photos for the blog, updated my instagram (@theanecdotalist), and skyped with my family :).

Today gave a glimpse of what my permanent life in Barcelona could look like… maybe some day I’ll be living here.


La vacación de un día ha terminado y ahora tengo que volver a la realidad… pero para ser honesta, ¡me encanta mi realidad ahora mismo! Por supuesto que extraño a mi familia, amigos, novio, casa, comida, etc., pero realmente estoy enamorada de la idea de vivir en Barcelona como una persona local … una persona local muy curiosa.

El trabajo estuvo muy bien como siempre. Estamos trabajando en muchos proyectos interesantes para nuestros clientes, pero también tenemos proyectos propios de la agencia y estoy muy feliz de que mis compañeros de trabajo me están haciendo parte de todo el proceso. Después del trabajo, regresé a mi apartamento aquí con tiempo suficiente para solo comer rápido, vestirme e irme hacia el edificio del Barcelona International College para recibir mi primera clase de catalán. El programa con el que vine a Barcelona incluía clases de español o catalán y ya que mi lengua materna es el español, obviamente elegí aprender catalán. Como la mayoría de los estudiantes están tomando español, mi clase de catalán está compuesta por el profesor y un estudiante más :p Voy a tener clases intensas durante cinco días y eso es todo. Sé que no voy a adquirir fluidez en el idioma pero es interesante conocer los fundamentos de la lengua más hablada en Barcelona 🙂 Además, ahora sé lo que significan algunos de los nombres de diferentes paradas de buses, calles, paradas de metro, etc.

Después de catalán, me entraron muchas ganas de comer macaroons (¡pudiera comer macaroons todos los días!), así que “yelpié” (el verbo para el uso de la aplicación Yelp, que me encanta) pastelerías que estaban cerca y encontré una atractiva a tan sólo una calle de distancia. Sin embargo, cuando llegué allí, no tenían macaroons (!!!), pero terminé comprando algunos pasteles rellenos de chocolate y otros rellenos de crema. Después, tomé como diez pasos para llegar a las estación de metro (¡hay tantas en Gran Vía!) y me fui a casa. Por la noche, seguí editando más fotos para el blog, actualizado mi Instagram (@theanecdotalist) y skypié con mi familia :).

Este día me dio una idea de lo que podría ser mi vida permanente en Barcelona… tal vez algún día voy a estar viviendo aquí.

Keep dreaming,

Sigan soñando, 

Deb

wpid-2015-08-15-12.06.09-1.jpg.jpeg wpid-2015-08-15-12.06.11-1.jpg.jpeg

♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

