Day 24 – My feet know how to explore Barcelona

(Para leer en español ir abajo)
(Click on continue reading to see photos)

Today I woke up feeling pretty, so I decided to wear a nice blouse, black pants, and my prettiest -most uncomfortable- heels. I took the bus to work and when I got there, my boss asked me, “are you not going?.” I guessed she noticed my confused expression and so she said, “to the ‘Impulsando Pymes Conference‘” (boosting Small and Medium Enterprises Conference). Whoooops!!! I told her I had forgotten and she told me I still had enough time to make it. I ended up walking to the metro station, which was about 7 min. away, and got to the Gloriés metro station to walk another 15 min. trying to find the Barcelona Growth Center, all in my pretty -uncomfortable- heels. I was in pain, but at least I looked like a professional woman. Beauty is pain, right? (not really). I ended being sat down next to my coworkers, which was a nice surprise. The conference focused on different managerial/entrepreneurial topics, which were very interesting to me, but not very new for Cocoa, considering the company is already making use of most of the services mentioned in the conference. To reward ourselves, my coworker and I went for some coffee before heading back to the office. It was nice to see this district of the city and the Torre Agbar, which is a famous Barcelona landmark. 

I went back to the office and stayed there working for two more hour. I then went back to the apartment to get some food, put on comfier clothes (release my little feet from the painful heels!!), and head back to the office to work on a photoshoot we were doing for one of our clients. I got to ride on my coworker’s vespa-like bike (always wished to do that in Barcelona) to get to the park where we would be shooting the photos. However, we had some trouble trying to find the photographer, and I had to leave before the photoshoot even started to head to my Catalán clases. Magnífic! Below are some photos of the Barcelona International College, which is where I receive my classes.

After class, I went to El Mercado de la Boqueria to meet with some friends who are traveling around Europe. I was so excited! However, they made me wait like 30 min. because, of course, they were taking a whole bunch of pictures on their way there. We finally found each other and walked all across town from Las Ramblas to Rambla de Catalunya, which are two long pedestrian mall-like streets separated by Plaza Catalunya. My friends decided to walk to save some of their metro tickets and to get a better view of the city, considering they were going to be there for just a couple of days. Obviously, I was taking many photos along the way because it was the best time of the day for pictures (around sunset). We finally got to Cerveceria Catalana, where we encountered a huge line, but we waited less than we thought and finally ordered the tapas we were craving. Cerveceria Catalan is a famous tapas and sangria restaurant… and I can see many reasons as to why it is so famous! The tapas are very good and very affordable, plus, they have hundreds of them and delicious desserts and sangria.

Finally, my friends and I walked to their airbnb, which was many many many blocks away and close to, yes, the Gloriés metro station. I had never been to this area of this city and weirdly enough, I got to see it twice today. After hanging out for a bit in their airbnb, tired Deb took a bus back home (yes, I speak in third person when I’m tired :P).

Today was a long, tiring day, but very rewarding in all aspects: educational, cultural, and social. Always learning!


Hoy me desperté sintiendome linda así que decidí usar una blusa bonita, pantalón negro y mis tacones más bonitos que también son bien incómodos. Tomé el bus al trabajoy cuando llegué mi jefe me preguntó: “¿No vaís?” Supuse que notó mi expresión confusa y entonces dijo, “¡a la conferencia ‘Impulsando Pymes’!” Whoooops !!! Le dije que me había olvidado y ella me dijo que todavía tenía tiempo suficiente para llegar. Terminé caminando a la estación de metro, que estaba a unos 7 min. de distancia, y llegué a la estación de metro de Glòries donde me tocó caminar otros 15 min. tratando de encontrar el Barcelona Growth Centre, todo en mis tacones bastante incómodos. Me dolían muchisímo los pies pero al menos me veía como una mujer profesional. La belleza es dolor, ¿no? (en realidad no). Me terminaron sentando junto a mi compañera de trabajo lo cual fue una agradable sorpresa. La conferencia se centró en diferentes temas de gestión empresarial que eran muy interesante para mí, pero no muy nuevos para Cocoa teniendo en cuenta que la compañía ya está haciendo uso de la mayor parte de los servicios mencionados en la conferencia. Como premio a nosotras mismas mi compañera de trabajo y yo nos fuimos a tomar un café antes de regresar a la oficina. Fue agradable ver este distrito de la ciudad y la Torre Agbar, que es un monumento de la ciudad de Barcelona.

Volví a la oficina y me quedé allí trabajando dos hora más. Después volví al apartamento para almorzar, me puse ropa más cómoda (¡para liberar mis pequeños pies de los tacones dolorosos!) y regresé a la oficina para trabajar en una sesión de fotos que estábamos haciendo para uno de nuestros clientes. Tuve la oportunidad de viajar en la vespa de mi compañera de trabajo (siempre quise hacer eso en Barcelona) para llegar al parque donde estaríamos tomando las fotos. Pero tuvimos algunos problemas tratando de encontrar al fotógrafo y me tuve que ir antes de que la sesión de fotos empezara porque tenía que irme a mis clases de Catalán. Magnífic! A continuación les muestro una foto del Barcelona International College ​​que es donde recibo mis clases.

Después de la clase, fui a El Mercado de la Boqueria para reunirme con unos amigos que están viajando por Europa. ¡Estaba tan emocionada! Sin embargo, me hicieron esperar como 30 min. porque, por supuesto, estaban tomando un montón de fotos en el camino. Finalmente nos encontramos y caminamos a través de la ciudad desde Las Ramblas a la Rambla de Catalunya, que son dos calles tipo peatonales separadas por Plaza Catalunya. Mis amigos decidieron caminar para ahorrar en sus billetes de metro y para tener una mejor vista de la ciudad, teniendo en cuenta que iban a quedarse sólo por un par de días. Obviamente, yo estaba tomando muchas fotos en el camino porque era el mejor momento del día para fotos (alrededor de la puesta del sol). Finalmente llegamos a la Cerveceria Catalana donde nos encontramos con una enorme cola pero terminamos esperando menos de lo que pensábamos y finalmente pedimos las tapas habíamos estábamos deseando. La Cerveceria Catalana es un restaurante de tapas y sangría famoso… ¡y puedo ver muchas razones de por qué es tan famoso! Las tapas son muy buenas y muy asequibles, además, tienen cientos de ellas y deliciosos postres y sangría.

Finalmente, mis amigos y yo nos fuimos a su Airbnb que estaba a muchisímas cuadras y que estaba cerca de, sí, la estación de metro de Glòries. Yo nunca había estado en esta zona de esta ciudad y de casualidad hoy estuve allí dos veces. Después de pasar el rato en su Airbnb, Deb la cansada tomó un bus de vuelta a casa (sí, hablo en tercera persona cuando estoy cansada: P).

Hoy ha sido un día largo y agotador, pero muy gratificante en todos los aspectos: educativo, cultural y social. ¡Siempre aprendiendo!

Keep dreaming,

Sigan soñando, 

Deb

The Glories Metro Station

The Glories Metro Station

Barcelona International College

Barcelona International College

wpid-2015-10-03-10.00.26-1.jpg.jpeg wpid-20151014_181051.jpg wpid-2015-10-03-10.00.14-1.jpg.jpeg wpid-20151014_181258.jpg wpid-20151014_180912.jpg wpid-2015-10-03-10.00.00-1.jpg.jpeg

Tapas @ Cerveceria Catalana

Tapas @ Cerveceria Catalana

DESSERT!

DESSERT!

wpid-2015-10-03-09.59.37-1.jpg.jpeg

♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

