Day 28 – BEST FRIES EVER!

(Para leer en español presiona continue reading)
(Click on continue reading to see photos)

To kick the day off, I went to the InOut Hostal, which is also a kind of rustic lodge with a pool and restaurant. It is hard to get to, but worth it because it truly is a green refuge in the city. I met Carlos there to eat a Bikini (ham and cheese toasted sandwich) and a Bocadillo (pork sandwich) for breakfast, and then, I bought another Twister ice cream (hehe) and we went to the pool area. It was indeed a very relaxing day.

In the afternoon, I went to my apartment to get change, and then we headed to, guess where? La Barceloneta! This time, we went there to check out this french fries place that had caught our attention. We were lucky enough to find it open, and guys, it left me speechless. AMAZING FRIEEEES!!! BEST ONES EVER! You already know I love pizza and macarons, but french fries are also in my favorites list. These fries from Las Fritas were just perfectly fried and delicious! You can add different toppings to them, but we choose bacon bites and Alioli (garlic and oil sauce, very famous in Barcelona). After having this marvelous experience, we walked along the Ronda Litoral avenue, where we saw many cool things, to get to Las Ramblas to visit the local Hillsong church. It felt good to be in community with other Christians, but it was certainly different than what we are used to. Music was amazing, of course. Like a concert!

After hearing a challenging message at church, we walked around the area and got to El Born where we bought some of the Argentinian empanadas that we tried two days ago and dumplings for me (’cause, guess what, I love those, too. I’m a foodie!). Then, we took a bus to my host family’s apartment to eat what we bought while watching some Modern Family, and then Carlos went to his hostel. Tomorrow is his last day here, which is very sad, but I’m happy because we’ve gathered unforgettable experiences.

I’ll tell you my feelings tomorrow.


 

Para dar inicio al día, me fui a Hostal InOut, que es también una especie de albergue rústico con una piscina y un restaurante. Es difícil de encontrar, pero vale la pena ir porque realmente es un refugio verde en la ciudad. Me encontré con Carlos allí para comer un Bikini (pan tostado con jamón y queso) y un Bocadillo (sándwich de cerdo) para el desayuno, y luego, me compré otra paleta helada Twister (jeje) y nos fuimos a la zona de la piscina. Fue realmente un día muy relajante.

Por la tarde, fui a mi apartamento para cambiarme de ropa y luego nos dirigimos a ¿adivinen dónde? ¡La Barceloneta! Esta vez, fuimos allí para chequear este lugar de papas fritas que nos había llamado la atención. Tuvimos la suerte de encontrarlo abierto, y queridos amigos, las papas me dejaron sin palabras. ¡¡¡Papas fritas increíbles!!! ¡LAS MEJORES DE MI VIDA! Ya saben que me encanta la pizza y los macarons, pero las papas fritas están también en mi lista de favoritos. ¡Estas papas de Las Fritas estaban perfectamente fritas y sabrosas! En este lugar, uno puede añadir diferentes ingredientes, nosotros elegimos trocitos de tocino y Alioli (salsa de ajo y aceite, muy famosa en Barcelona). Después de tener esta maravillosa experiencia, caminamos por Ronda Litoral, donde vimos cosas muy cool, para llegar a Las Ramblas para visitar la iglesia local de Hillsong. Se sentía bien estar en comunidad con otros cristianos, pero sin duda era diferente a lo que estamos acostumbrados. La música era increíble, por supuesto. ¡Como un concierto!

Después de escuchar un mensaje desafiante en la iglesia, nos dimos una vuelta por la zona y llegamos a El Born donde compramos algunas de las empanadas argentinas que probamos hace dos días y dumplings para mí (porque, ¿adivinen qué?, me encantan esos también. ¡Soy una comelona!) Luego, tomamos un bus hacia el apartamento de mi familia española para comer lo que compramos mientras veíamos Modern Family, y luego Carlos se fue a su hostal. Mañana es su último día aquí, que es muy triste, pero estoy feliz porque hemos reunido experiencias inolvidables.

Les comparto mis sentimientos mañana.

Keep Dreaming,

Sigan Soñando,

Deb

 

 

 

2015-12-23-09.19.25-1.jpg.jpeg

2015-12-23-09.19.27-1.jpg.jpeg

Bocadillo for breakfast at InOut

2015-12-23-09.19.09-1.jpg.jpeg2015-12-23-09.19.24-1.jpg.jpeg

20151225_042222.jpg

Las Fritas… only the best fries EVER!

2015-12-23-09.19.11-1.jpg.jpeg

2015-12-23-09.19.01-1.jpg.jpeg

Ronda Litoral

20151225_043108.jpg

 

2015-12-23-08.29.54-1.jpg.jpeg

Car show!

2015-12-23-08.25.31-1.jpg.jpeg

Hillsong Church Barcelona

20151225_042357.jpg

Walking around El Born

wpid-2015-11-09-02.20.19-1.jpg.jpeg

Argentinian empanadas in Barcelona

♥ ♥ ♥

 

One thought on “Day 28 – BEST FRIES EVER!

Leave a Reply

