Day 33 – (Lyon) The Au Pair Life

(Para leer en español presiona continue reading)
(Click on continue reading to see photos)

After about 7 hours on the bus, I finally made it to Lyon! A new -unexpected- destination to add to my travel list 🙂

My sweet  sweet friend, who works as Au Pair in Lyon, came to the bus station to pick me up and we then went to her host family’s house, which is GORGEOUS! Remember Beauty and the Beast? Remember the little french villa kinda town where she lived? Yep, the town where my friend lives is basically the same. Just look at the photos! Also, her host family is super nice and the kids love her, which was kind of surprising to me just because my friend was never the crazy-about-kids kinda of girl, but she’s such a great Au Pair! Continuing on, first things first: GET ME A TICKET TO GO BACK TO BARCELONA! Not that I want to leave Lyon asap, but I do have to work on Monday so I definitely need to be back by then 😛 Anyways, as you may already know, my card is not working, so my friend was kind enough to pay for my ticket and I gave her the cash. This unexpected little issue actually turned out great (here’s another great example) because I got a ticket for just about 9 euros. Yes, all the way back to Barcelona for just 9 euros!

After purchasing my ticket, we cooked a quick Salvadoran breakfast and tried to fry plantains, but the plantains were not very good (go figure!). Afterwards… NAP NAP NAP. We took a nap basically the whole morning haha. I had traveled for many hours and my friend was just tired, too, so we decided to rest so that we would have enough strength to go explore tomorrow. We got up and ate lunch like at 3 p.m., haha, and then went out just to explore the little town where she lives (she lives about 15 min. away from Lyon). At night, we went out with some of my friend’s friends and ended the night by the Rhône river. It was a lot of fun. I’m sure tomorrow will be great, too!


Después de aproximadamente 7 horas en el bus, ¡finalmente llegué a Lyon! Un nuevo destino -inesperado- para agregar a mi lista de viaje 🙂

Mi lindísima amiga, que trabaja como Au Pair en Lyon, llegó a la estación de buses a recogerme y luego nos fuimos a la casa de su familia, ¡que es hermosa! ¿Se acuerdan de la película de La Bella y La Bestia? ¿Se acuerdan de la villa francesa donde vivía Bella? Pues sí, la ciudad donde vive mi amiga es básicamente la misma. ¡Basta con mirar las fotos! Además, su familia es muy agradable y los niños aman a mi amiga, lo cual fue un poco sorprendente para mí sólo porque mi amiga nunca fue loca por los niños ¡pero ha demostrado ser una excelente Au Pair! Continuando, primero lo primero: ¡CONSEGUIRME UN BOLETO PARA IR DE REGRESO A BARCELONA! No es que quiera dejar Lyon a las ya, pero tengo que trabajar el lunes por lo que definitivamente necesito estar de vuelta para entonces 😛 Y bueno, como les conté, mi tarjeta no funciona, así que mi amiga tuvo la amabilidad de pagar el boleto y yo le di el dinero en efectivo. Este pequeño problema inesperado en realidad resultó saliendo mejor de lo que esperaba (he aquí otro gran ejemplo) porque terminé comprando un boleto a sólo unos 9 euros. Sí, todo el camino de vuelta a Barcelona por sólo 9 €.

Después de comprar mi boleto, nos cocinamos un desayuno salvadoreño rapidito y tratamos de freír plátanos, pero los plátanos no estaban muy buenos (¡como era de imaginarse!). Después… SIESTA. Nos tomamos una siesta básicamente toda la mañana jaja. Yo había viajado por muchas horas y mi amiga estaba cansada también, así que decidimos descansar para que pudiéramos tener suficiente fuerza para ir a explorar mañana. Nos levantamos para almorzar como a las 3 p.m. jaja, y luego salimos sólo para explorar la pequeña ciudad donde mi amiga vive (vive como a 15 min. de Lyon). Por la noche, salimos con algunos de los amigos de mi amiga y terminamos la noche paseando el río Rhône. Fue súper chivo. ¡Estoy seguro de que mañana será chivísimo también!


Keep dreaming,

Sigan soñando, 

Deb

2016-05-03-10.19.29-1.jpg.jpeg

20160503_111759.jpg

Breakfast

20160503_111713.jpg

This is where Belle lived… maybe not, but it could have been like this!

2016-05-03-10.18.48-1.jpg.jpeg

Lunch, cooked by the one and only Au Pair friend 😛

20160503_111210.jpg

Amazing home wine cellar

20160503_111900.jpg2016-05-03-10.19.11-1.jpg.jpeg20160503_112034.jpg

♥ ♥ ♥

 

 

Leave a Reply

